问题描述

曼尼托巴水电公司常输出其丰富的水电给邻省安大略省和美国,每年的交易量都以亿(美元)计。曼尼托巴水电公司的能源系统规划部门需要知道如何确定电站的发电量,使得公司能在不影响系统稳定性的前提下,能卖给安大略省最多的电。

传统的方法是查找通过经验和历史数据汇编而成的表格来确定发电量。但随着能源系统和市场的不断变化,以及每年不同的储水情况,公司需要相应的方法和工具来随时确定能带给公司最大利润的发电方案。

 

解决策略

通过我们的预测元模型建模方法,我们建立了发电方案和最大能源输出值之间的数学模型并开发了相应的工具。曼尼托巴水电公司可以使用此工具来规划各电站的发电量而不用担心影响系统稳定。 此问题代表着元模型技术得到成功应用的问题中规模(含50个变量)最大的问题之一。

结果

我们只用了315个仿真点就构建了这个具有50个变量的预测模型。我们的预测建模方法可以用于建立复杂能源系统且含很多约束及可靠性校验的系统模型。 通过我们的模型,工程师可以获得对能源系统本身的更深的认识。我们提供的工具也可以直接用于系统规划。

 
 
 韦斯特兰直升飞机公司

韦斯特兰直升飞机公司

  p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'PingFang SC'; color: #454545}    通用汽车公司

 通用汽车公司

 白纳德动力公司

白纳德动力公司

 曼尼托巴水电公司

曼尼托巴水电公司

 圣保罗医院

圣保罗医院

 飞利浦和腾利工业公司

飞利浦和腾利工业公司

THE PROBLEM

Manitoba Hydro produces clean hydro power that is exported to Ontario and the USA. Such transactions are in the millions of dollars each year. The power interconnection between Manitoba and Ontario is called the OM Tie. The System Planning Department at Manitoba Hydro needs to determine the generation pattern (i.e., how much electricity to generate) at certain power plants so that they can sell enough electrical energy to Ontario through the OM Tie without causing instability to the power system.

The conventional practice is to use a look-up table, generated from experience or historical analyses, to decide the generation pattern. But with the changing power system configuration and the changing water conditions every year, the look-up table was inadequate and Manitoba Hydro needed a method and tool to quickly determine the generation pattern to maximize profit in the energy market.

 

THE SOLUTION

We created a predictive model for the System Planning Department that modelled the effects of 50 parameters and predicted the power generation pattern and calculated the maximum energy available for export. With such a tool, the power generation pattern can be determined with any system conditions with the confidence that such a generation pattern will not cause system instability.

 

THE RESULTS

Only 315 expensive simulation calls are used to build a predictive model for a 50 parameter problem. Our predictive modelling strategy modelled a complicated power system with many contingency and system reliability checks.

Through this process, engineers at Manitoba Hydro gained valuable insight into the power system and received a software tool that is useful for system planning.

 
 
 Westland Helicopters

Westland Helicopters

 General Motors

General Motors

 Ballard Power Systems

Ballard Power Systems

 Manitoba Hydro

Manitoba Hydro

 St. Paul's Hospital

St. Paul's Hospital

 Phillips and Temro

Phillips and Temro